(Disembraining) LP $21.00 (Out-of-stock)

The second LP from Brisbane acoustic pop destroyer Ivan Matthew Hicks is an eleven-part atonal poem to the desecration of the hallowed halls in Eastern Europe by UFO cults, a soliloquy to the radiation blossoming in clouds from its broken windows as the populace flee down ropes. Early pangs of Chris Knox’s solo material ring out quite nicely. Guests include Paul Salter on drums, Josh Watson (Sewers) on violin, and the Ecclesiastic Uprising Of The Comet’s Tail on spiritual and literary support. Includes free download.


Songbook 5

(Disembraining) LP $21.00 (Out-of-stock)

The fifth edition of Mattin’s ongoing series uses “improvisation as a way of exposing structural clichés in pop and rock music” and “song structures to demystify the so-called spontaneity and freedom of improvisation.” With contributions from Joel Stern and Alex Cuffe (Sky Needle), Andrew McLellan (Cured Pink) and guitarist Dean Roberts (Thela, White Winged Moth, Autistic Daughters), it was created according to a strict set of conditions generated through an obsessively literal reiteration of the number five: five musicians record five improvised songs of five minutes each addressing five concepts described in five-word titles; a twenty-five-minute concert with five-minute sections structured by five instructions based on the song titles given to five members of the audience; vocals recorded for the five songs in the form of a singing lecture at the Victorian College of the Arts, where the audience only hears Mattin’s voice as he listens to the backing tracks on headphones; recordings of the first three parts superimposed to create a twenty-five-minute album consisting of five five-minute songs. Edition of 555.


Aussie Dream

(Disembraining) LP $21.00 (Out-of-stock)

This Australian quartet improvises avant pop electronica constructed from field recordings, using midi controllers, microphones and unique hardware instruments that reshape their found sounds.