Smelly Neu Pollution

(Minimum Table Stacks) LP $22.50

New Zealand legend Brent Hayward AKA Fats White is probably best known as the vocalist and guitarist in Wellington and Auckland post-punk bands like Shoes This High and Kiwi Animal but when he wasn’t collaborating with others he performed and recorded solo as Smelly Feet — on street corners and stages, supporting The Clean and even The Fall on their legendary 1982 tour of New Zealand. The music of Smelly Feet is sardonic, chaotic DIY folk on the surface, but much deeper than that is a legit artistic genius baring his soul using just his voice and an acoustic guitar. Tuning is often an afterthought, because it’s the message that counts: prophetic, apocalyptic, cynical, passionate. Everything from three Smelly Feet singles is here, self-released in 1981, plus selections from cassettes from the same time and place. Liner notes by Stuart Page of Axemen and Bruce Russell of The Dead C. Edition of 300.


Son of Drib Against the Wind

(Minimum Table Stacks) LP $20.00 (Out-of-stock)

COMING FEBRUARY 3. The twelve songs of scuzzed-out garage pop on the second LP from this trio (now expanded to a quartet) take you from Beat Happening to the Warsaw demos to the first Strokes LP, then right back home to Columbus, OH, where they hold their own with like-minded predecessors like Cheater Slicks, Times New Viking, Great Plains, Thomas Jefferson Slave Apartments and so on. Two songs were included in the soundtrack to Poser (which made its debut at the Tribeca Film Festival).


Vile Insect

(Minimum Table Stacks) 12-inch $12.00 (Out-of-stock)

COMING FEBRUARY 3. One of the rarest and largely unknown documents of 1980s UK DIY post-punk. Touching on the same sounds as Scritti Politti, the Raincoats and the Pop Group, the Wales-based quartet existed for a short time, played a few shows, and recorded and self-released one two-song seven-inch on their own Cheek to Cheek label. After four decades of evading Kugelberg’s Top 100, Messthetics compilations, and 45 Revolutions, bassist Steve Walker dug up the perfectly preserved original quarter-inch studio tapes with both songs from the seven plus two more recorded at the same session but never released. Presented here for the first time, digitally remastered, are all four songs along with a fold-out insert with Walker’s liner notes, photos and ephemera from his archive, and a reprint of a 1981 fanzine interview with the band. Edition of 300



(Minimum Table Stacks) LP $20.00 (Out-of-stock)

COMING FEBRUARY 17. “Originally released as a cassette on the Japanese tape label Vanilla in 1993,” explains Tom Lax, “Skull has been floating around the sub-underground for years. ZBZ was the brainchild of the late noise legend Hirohito Taneguchi (Seed Mouth) and the equally legendary Junko Hiroshige (Hijokaidan, Genbakukaidan). Much like Michio Kadotani’s Rotting Telepathies recordings, Skull’s great tremors of blurred clamber come directly at you, sometimes sideways. It’s hard to know how much is premeditated or just what’s driven by organic impulse, which is what makes it such a great attestation of its era. In an instant, the album movse from a psychotic whoosh not unlike Twin Infinitives to an eerie gait similar to Dadamah’s. Plus, there's everything in between. A true blue-blood of disparate vision, ranking right up there in the masterpiece department with un’s self-titled album, New Zealand’s Ziggy Stardust Band, and those two solo albums from Eric Hysteric.” Edition of 300